Day 10

Day 10: Ctrl+C | BrokeBot Mountain

Ctrl+C
Weekly movie review podcast. We rotate hosts between episodes where the host picked the movie for the group for the week. This tends to lead to entertaining results. We’re a few months away from our first year anniversary.

BrokeBot Mountain
BrokeBot Mountain is the podcast where some artificially intelligent people walk through a maze that explores themes of existence and free thought in science fiction TV, movies, books and cutting edge technology.


Ctrl+C: Much Ado About Nothing

14724520_1165855243495830_1973056689628555157_n
1494614491_twitter
1494614495_facebook
1494614535_rss

This week Linzi made the team watch Joss Whedon’s adaptation of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing. It’s a tale of unrequited love and revenge that turns out to be the forbearer of the modern rom-com.
More episodes of note: Wonder Woman | Wet Hot American Summer

“In episode 32, the group discusses Joss Whedon’s Much Ado About Nothing. The show starts off by Linzi admitting that she chose this movie as revenge for all the movies the group had chosen before her, something I would have totally done myself. The way this show is set up and how the conversation flows, I literally felt like I was sitting around talking about a movie we had just watched together. I found myself laughing several times and even caught my son chuckling in the backseat. The group does a great job coming to the table with tidbits of information on how the movie was made and the people involved.”
-Life Under The Laundry Pile

“This was my first listen to Ctrl + C, and they are covering one of my favorite writer/directors, Joss Whedon and a movie I’ve not seen yet, Much Ado About Nothing. I enjoyed the different perspectives of most of the participants though I wish that everyone who was on the review had watched the whole movie. A few said they fell asleep, which I totally understand when dealing with Shakespeare at times. I like that they talked about other Joss Whedon projects and the actors in them. This is definitely a podcast where you get multiple unique opinions instead of having people either agree or disagree.”
-Tales from the Fandom


BrokeBot Mountain: Alien Covenant
16804302_471942626263273_4465197345220776149_o

1494614491_twitter
1494614495_facebook
1494614535_rss

In this episode of BrokeBot Mountain, the crew is joined with special guest Brett Stewart from Geek Cinema Society and the Statecraft Podcasts to discuss the newest in the Sci-Fi Horror Thriller Alien Prequels, Alien: Covenant directed by Ridley Scott, and based on characters written by Dan O’Bannon, and Ronald Shusett, in theatres now. Synopsis: The crew of the colony ship Covenant, bound for a remote planet on the far side of the galaxy, discovers what they think is an uncharted paradise, but is actually a dark, dangerous world. When they uncover a threat beyond their imagination, they must attempt a harrowing escape.
More episodes of note: Galaxy Quest | Back To The Future

This was my first listen to BrokeBot Mountain even though I’ve heard it mentioned and have listened to two of the hosts on other podcasts.  I was really excited to listen to the Alien Covenant review, as I’d not seen the movie but was interested to hear their opinions.  I really liked the dynamic between the hosts and their discussion of not only the movie itself, but the themes presented in the franchise of Alien movies as a whole.  I don’t normally find that in reviews that I read, and they even referenced one article I had read previously online which made it even more impactful on hearing their discussion.  I really enjoyed the podcast as a whole and will be subscribing to it to listen for their take.
-Tales from the Fandom

“Alien: Covenant is one of the more controversial films of the year, especially among sci-fi geeks. Kari and Phil from the Brokebot Mountain podcast decided to review and discuss this film in a recent episode. Kari is truly one of the most enthusiastic hosts on any podcasts. Phil is quite knowledgeable about the film and has clearly done his research while discussing the various production aspects to the film. All three (including special guest Brett Stewart) hold nothing back when giving their opinion of the movie. Though, this episode isn’t all Alien-bashing. These three do give credit where credit is due; but also, don’t sugarcoat the lackluster aspects to this film. I would say that any sci-fi fan or movie nerd will appreciate this episode!”
-PVDCast

I really dig this podcast. Normally I shy away from long podcasts but Kari, Phil and David manage to keep my interest and are a database of knowledge. Really enjoyed the banter!
-Can I Get A Ride?

